Award in recognition of excellence in nuclear physics for Carlo Bruno

The European Physical Society (EPS) Nuclear Physics Division Board has announced the winners of PhD theses in the areas of experimental, theoretical or applied nuclear physics.

Carlo Bruno received this award for his thesis on Underground measurement of hydrogen-burning reactions on 17,18O at energies of astrophysical interest, which he completed in 2017 while at the School of Physics and Astronomy, The University of Edinburgh. Results from his thesis have been published in Physical Review Letters and Nature Astronomy. Carlo is currently working at the University as a Postdoctoral Research Associate on nuclear reaction studies at storage rings within the School’s Institute for Particle and Nuclear Physics.

The European Physical Society awards PhD prizes every three years to the best theses in nuclear physics.  Winners give a plenary talk on their work and are presented with a diploma during the European Nuclear Physics Conference.