Peter Higgs to give Oskar Klein Memorial Lecture

Peter Higgs, Emeritus Professor of Theoretical Physics at the University of Edinburgh, will this year give the Oskar Klein Memorial Lecture and will receive the Oskar Klein medal. Sponsored by the Nobel committee of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and by Stockholm University, the lecture will take place in Stockholm on October 1 and honours the memory of Oskar Klein (1894-1977) who worked with Niels Bohr in Copenhagen before becoming a professor of theoretical physics at Stockholm University. The Oskar Klein Memorial Lecture was first held in 1988 and past speakers include Steven Weinberg, Hans Bethe, Martin Rees, and Stephen Hawking to name but a few.