University supports new Theoretical Physics research

Professor Peter Higgs. Image copyright Graham Clark.
Professor Peter Higgs. Image copyright Graham Clark.

In recognition of the theoretical work of Professor Peter Higgs, which led to the recent discovery of the Higgs boson and completion of the Standard Model of elementary particle physics, the University of Edinburgh is establishing the Higgs Centre for Theoretical Physics.

It will also establish a Chair in the name of Peter Higgs.

The Centre will bring together theoretical physicists from around the world to seek an even deeper understanding of how the Universe works.

The University has committed an initial sum of £750k for new academic staff, PhD studentships, and a programme of international visitors and workshops at the Centre, which will be based within refurbished space at the James Clerk Maxwell Building on the King’s Buildings campus.

“Discovery of the Higgs boson completes our picture of the known elementary particles, but these make up only 4% of the Universe. It demonstrates the power of theoretical physics to explain Nature, even though it took almost fifty years for the experimental confirmation. So we are confident that the work of the Higgs Centre can guide our search for what the rest of the Universe is made of.” Prof. Richard Kenway, Tait Professor of Mathematical Physics, University of Edinburgh

The Centre’s International Steering Committee will be chaired by Richard Kenway (Tait Professor of Mathematical Physics) and includes: Peter Higgs, John Ellis (Clerk Maxwell Professor of Theoretical Physics, King’s College, London) and James Stirling (Jacksonian Professor of Natural Philosophy, University of Cambridge). The Director will be Professor Richard Ball.

Higgs Centre for Theoretical Physics Fund

A campaign, known as the Higgs Centre for Theoretical Physics Fund, has been established to support the work of the Centre. 

Donations can be made to the fund by contacting the Development and Alumni team on 0131 650 2240; emailing margaret.clift [at] or through the Higgs Centre for Theoretical Physics Fund website.