Programme structure

The programme structure is the same for both MScs. Each is a full-time, 180-credit, taught Master’s programme.

Programme Structure - small.jpg

Taught component

The taught component of the programme has two elements:

1. Two compulsory courses plus a selection of core courses, which bring all students to an advanced level in subjects such as: general relativity; cosmology; statistical physics; condensed matter physics; quantum field theory and the Standard Model of particle physics.

Mathematical Physics students will also take a selection of courses in pure/applied mathematics.

2. A choice from a wider pool of courses, including specialist courses in mathematics, computing and climate science

For the current list of courses, take a look at the Higgs Centre MSc web pages.


Following the taught component of the programme, students undertake a 3-month research project  drawn from the Higgs Centre for Theoretical Physics, which leads to a dissertation.

Semester dates

The MScs follow the University’s academic year calendar. The taught component runs over two semesters, from September to May. Students then undertake their research project from June to August.